What are current replacement-battery price examples?
We rechecked these manufacturer and U.S. retailer listings on October 21, 2026. Eleven observations run from USD $349.99 to $599; the five Shimano, Bosch, Giant and Specialized listings run from USD $748.99 to $1,699.99. Those ranges describe the selected listings, not typical prices for every bike. Giant’s figure is a displayed MSRP; retailer prices are identified separately.
| Exact pack and part | Listed or calculated energy | Observed price | Fit, exclusions and purchase checks |
|---|---|---|---|
| Velotric Tempo battery Part / SKU: ABTR0021A | 374 Wh (maker-labelled) | USD $349.99 | Select Tempo / Standard / Black. Charger excluded; final sale. |
| Lectric XP4 Spare Battery Part / SKU: 171-01641-A001 | 500 Wh (maker-labelled) | USD $350 | XP4 step-over only; not XP 1.0, 2.0 or 3.0. Charger excluded. |
| Ride1Up Vorsa Battery Part / SKU: VORSA_BATT | 720 Wh (calculated: 48 V × 15 Ah) | USD $475 | Vorsa only. Cover, housing, charger and extra keys excluded; non-returnable. Page shows both in-stock and preorder wording; confirm dispatch. |
| Aventon Extra Battery — Level 3 selection Part / SKU: 19004-4100152 | 733 Wh (Level 3 bike specification; not stated on pack page) | USD $499 | Select the combined Abound LR / Abound SR / Level 3 / Level 4 REC / Pace 4 / Pace 5 REC / Aventure 3 / Aventure M variant. Charger and cover excluded; non-returnable; delivery signature required. |
| Velotric Discover 3 Standard battery Part / SKU: ABTR0020A | 730.6 Wh (maker-labelled; retained as printed) | USD $499.99 | Select Discover 3 / Standard / Black. Charger excluded; final sale. |
| Mokwheel Mesa Lite / Mesa Lite ST battery Part / SKU: M000BY04000D | 529 Wh (maker-labelled) | USD $499.99 | Listing names Mesa Lite and Mesa Lite ST. Charger inclusion not stated; battery cannot be returned. |
| Rad Safe Shield Advanced External 13 Ah Part / SKU: 400-01684 | 614–634 Wh (maker-labelled range) | USD $549 + $49 battery shipping = USD $598 before tax / charger | Standard on 2025 RadRunner and RadRunner Plus; other approved external-battery models are listed by Rad. Not semi-integrated or pre-2019 models. Updated Rad charger required and sold separately; final sale. |
| Lectric XP4 750 Long-Range Spare Battery Part / SKU: 171-01640-A001 | 840 Wh (maker-labelled) | USD $575 | XP4 750 step-over only; not XP 1.0, 2.0 or 3.0. Charger excluded. |
| Himiway A7 / A7 Pro / D5 2.0 48 V 20 Ah battery Part / SKU: HMW-BATTERY-011 | 960 Wh (calculated: 48 V × 20 Ah) | USD $589 | Select the A7; A7 Pro; D5 2.0; D5 2.0 20-inch / 48 V 20 Ah variant, not the sold-out 15 Ah pack. Charger inclusion not stated. |
| Rad Safe Shield Advanced Semi-Integrated 15 Ah Part / SKU: 400-01458 | 680–720 Wh (maker-labelled range) | USD $599 + $49 battery shipping = USD $648 before tax / charger | Standard on Radster Road / Trail; Rad lists specific semi-integrated upgrades. Not a universal Rad replacement. Updated Rad charger required and sold separately; final sale. |
| Heybike Hauler Spare Battery Part / SKU: HB2Hauler013BUSBK1 | 600 Wh (calculated: 48 V × 12.5 Ah) | USD $599 | Hauler is named in the listing. Confirm the exact bike and position with Heybike. Charger inclusion not stated. |
| Shimano STEPS BT-E8035 — Tree Fort Bikes Part / SKU: IBTE8035E | 504 Wh in retailer title; Ah specification conflicts | USD $748.99 | Down-tube-mount listing. The same page says 36 V / 17.5 Ah, inconsistent with 504 Wh. Have the seller resolve the exact part/specification before ordering. Charger inclusion not stated; final sale. |
| Bosch PowerTube 625 vertical, smart system — Tree Fort Bikes Part / SKU: EB12.100.012 | 625 Wh in retailer title; description conflicts | USD $1,018.99 | The 625 Wh title conflicts with copied 750 Wh / 20.1 Ah description text. Ask the seller to confirm the exact pack. Smart system, not eBike System 2. Charger inclusion not stated; final sale. |
| Bosch PowerTube 750 vertical, smart system — Tree Fort Bikes Part / SKU: EB12.100.00Y | 750 Wh in retailer title | USD $1,142.99 | Vertical plug connection; smart system, not eBike System 2. Confirm frame/connection fit. Charger inclusion not stated; final sale. |
| Giant EnergyPak Smart 800Wh Part / SKU: No part number displayed | 800 Wh (maker-labelled) | USD $1,200 MSRP | Displayed MSRP; dealer price and availability need confirmation. Giant lists Smart 500/625-equipped Giant, Liv and Momentum bikes; some need a separate 800 cover. Charger inclusion not stated. |
| Specialized M2 & M3 UL/EN, black 700 WH (SERVICE-AM) single pack Part / SKU: 98924-5610 | 700 Wh (maker-labelled) | USD $1,699.99 | Gen.2 Levo / Kenevo and Gen.3 Levo. Bare battery; installation small parts excluded. |
Recheck the selected pack, country, promotion, taxes and delivery before ordering. A lower price on another model is not a saving if that battery is not approved for your bike. A matching plug or capacity does not mean the pack fits. The Lectric step-over restrictions must not be extended to step-through frames.
Aventon’s USD $499 price applies to the selected combined-model variant and SKU in the table. The 733 Wh figure comes from Aventon’s Level 3 bike specification; the spare-pack page itself gives no Wh. Keep that cross-reference attached to the Level 3 example rather than assigning it to every Aventon battery.
Two Tree Fort listings contain conflicting energy specifications, flagged in the table. Their advertised prices are observable; their inconsistent descriptions need a seller answer before purchase. We have not verified Tree Fort’s authorized-dealer status. Velotric’s Wh figures are retained as labelled rather than recomputed from its listed volts and Ah. Ride1Up’s page also mixes stock and preorder wording, so confirm dispatch.
Why does the exact battery matter more than a brand average?
Use an identification record when requesting a quote: bike make and model, model year or generation, frame variant, battery part number, and the charger’s model. Share identifiers privately with the manufacturer or shop rather than posting a bike serial number in a public comment. Photograph only accessible labels; do not open the pack to identify its cells.
| Check | What to ask the manufacturer or shop | What does not prove it |
|---|---|---|
| Bike and pack identity | Which exact replacement part is approved for this bike generation and frame? | A shared brand name or similar online photograph |
| Mount and installation | Are the cover, retaining parts, lock and installation steps included or required separately? | A case that appears to slide into the frame |
| Electrical system and charger | Is the pack approved for this drive system and the exact charger? Are service or software steps required? | Matching nominal voltage, plug shape or advertised capacity alone |
| Purchase terms | What are the final local price, warranty, return restrictions, delivery and recycling arrangements? | A search snippet, collection discount or another country’s price |
Those are questions to obtain approval, not instructions for modifying a battery, connector or bike. If the supplier cannot identify an approved match, leave compatibility unresolved. A marketplace seller’s description of cell brands is not independent evidence of the complete pack’s suitability or safe construction.
Is price per watt-hour useful?
Price divided by listed Wh describes how much the quoted capacity costs. Using the table’s dated figures gives approximately USD $0.70/Wh for the 500 Wh Lectric pack, $0.68/Wh for its 840 Wh pack, and $2.43/Wh for the 700 Wh Specialized pack. These are derived ratios from battery-only list observations; usable energy was not measured and whole-system costs are separate. Where Wh is calculated, the table explicitly shows volts × amp-hours. We do not calculate a capacity-price ratio for the two retailer listings with conflicting specifications.
They do not establish value, safety, longevity or interchangeability. Include the parts and service actually needed, compare the same currency and configuration, and consider whether the replacement meets your intended use. Our battery-capacity workbench explains nominal energy; it does not approve replacement hardware. Where a manufacturer supplies Wh, retain that labelled figure rather than inventing extra precision from rounded voltage and Ah.
What belongs in the complete replacement quote?
- Exact approved battery part and quoted currency.
- Any required cover, retaining hardware or other installation parts.
- An approved charger if the existing one cannot be used or is missing.
- Diagnosis and installation labour, with any system service steps identified.
- Applicable tax, delivery, handling and local recycling fees.
- Warranty and return terms, plus who handles a fault or delivery problem.
- Safe end-of-life collection arrangements for the old pack.
Ask for these lines separately; do not assume every pack requires every charge. The Specialized example expressly excludes installation small parts, while the Aventon page excludes a cover and charger. Rad explicitly adds USD $49 battery shipping per pack: the external example totals $598 and the semi-integrated example $648 before tax, a required charger or other extras. Canadian recycling-program information describes environmental handling fees, which should not be added automatically to a U.S. quote.
For a planning illustration, a USD $600 pack plus $60 necessary parts, $80 diagnosis/installation and $40 delivery totals $780 before tax. These four amounts are assumptions, not a retailer quote. Spread that $780 across five years as $156 per year only if you want a budgeting allowance. In the ownership-cost scenario, the allowance appears under “Other costs each year.” Do not count the same replacement again under maintenance.
Should you replace a weak battery or buy a new bike?
Get the fault diagnosed before buying a pack. A bike that will not power on does not, by itself, prove that a new battery will solve it. Compare the complete replacement quote with the condition, fit and service needs of the bike you already own. If the battery shows damage or concerning behaviour, stop using it and seek the manufacturer’s or service centre’s guidance; do not keep charging it to test a bargain replacement theory.
The Bosch system 2 battery manual dated February 12, 2025, English page 5, describes reduced operating time as deterioration and directs faulty packs to service-centre replacement. That is guidance for the covered Bosch packs, not a fixed lifetime for every battery. This guide no longer promises a universal 1,000-cycle lifespan. Use your actual diagnosis, manufacturer instructions and intended ownership period.
Can you save money by rebuilding the old battery?
Do not use this guide as permission to open, recell or improvise a pack. The same Bosch manual, English page 5, prohibits opening its covered batteries even for repair and directs replacement through a service centre. In his September 5, 2024 statement on universal chargers, Commissioner Richard Trumka advised using the supplied charger or a manufacturer replacement and avoiding packs reworked by unqualified people or with reused cells. This is an attributed safety statement, not a claim that a new federal rule was enacted.
Price, a cell-brand label or a seller’s assurance is not enough to override the original system’s instructions. Ask the bike manufacturer what service is approved and what evidence supports it. If no approved replacement or service route is available, record that limitation rather than treating DIY repacking as a routine purchase option. Our charging guide and battery-problem guide explain further checks and stop conditions.
How should you arrange recycling and delivery?
Contact a collection programme or qualified retailer before travelling with or sending the old pack, especially if it is damaged, defective or recalled. Confirm that the location accepts e-bike batteries, your brand and the pack’s condition. An ordinary household battery bin is not automatically the correct destination.
The Call2Recycle Canada FAQ, checked October 11, 2026, describes registered bicycle collection sites inspecting end-of-life or defective packs and using dedicated shipping arrangements. Availability and acceptance must be checked locally. For New York City, the FDNY battery-safety and recycling page points readers to local disposal options and prohibits putting rechargeable batteries in trash or general recycling. Do not assume those local rules or collection arrangements apply everywhere.
For shipping questions, use our battery-transport planning checker and confirm the actual carrier’s rules. A replacement purchase price is separate from transport acceptance. Keep the old pack’s condition, the exact approved replacement and the final delivered quote visible in your decision.
Frequently asked questions
Will a replacement battery with the same voltage and plug work?
Those matches alone do not establish compatibility. Obtain approval for the exact bike, battery part, mount, electrical system and charger.
Is the cheapest price per Wh the best battery?
The ratio describes a dated capacity price only. It does not measure safety, usable energy, longevity, fit or the complete replacement bill.
Should every e-bike battery be replaced after 1,000 cycles?
This guide gives no universal cycle limit. Use the actual diagnosis, manufacturer instructions and your intended ownership period.
Can I put the old pack in any battery recycling bin?
Confirm that the collection site accepts e-bike batteries, your brand and the pack’s condition. Damaged or recalled packs may need separate arrangements.
