Five documented configurations to compare

These five existing verified profiles illustrate different load definitions. Review the linked configuration, current manual and fit before shortlisting.

Published load figures are shown with each maker’s definition; “unknown” means the checked maker source did not establish that limit.
Verified configurationLoad limits and definitionBattery, motor and frameSources · checked Oct 17, 2026
Lectric XPress2 Cruiser, U.S. Step-Thru Raindrop Blue Rider: 330 lb (150 kg). Rider + cargo: 330 lb (150 kg). Rack: 30 lb (14 kg). Separate gross limit unknown.

Battery: 672 Wh

Motor: 750 W maker-listed, basis unspecified; 1,310 W peak. Rear hub.

Frame: Step-Thru; separate High-Step version also sold.

Product; Manual, 2026-10-17
Lectric XP4 750W Step-Over Long-Range, U.S. 330 lb (150 kg) labelled payload; bicycle inclusion and separate rider limit unknown. Rack: 150 lb (68 kg), within applicable total.

Battery: 840 Wh

Motor: 750 W maker-listed, basis unspecified; 1,310 W peak. Rear hub.

Frame: Folding step-over; aluminum frame.

Product, 2026-10-17
Aventon Abound SR, U.S. 440 lb (200 kg) labelled “Total Weight Limit”; blog calls it rider/passengers/cargo payload. Bicycle inclusion unresolved. Rider-only limit unknown. Rack: 143 lb (65 kg).

Battery: 733 Wh

Motor: 750 W maker rating; 1,188 W peak. Rear hub.

Frame: Step-Through; 6061 aluminum alloy.

Product and Load article, 2026-10-17
Specialized Globe Haul ST, U.S. One Size Satin Obsidian SKU 91023-8000U 419 lb (190 kg) gross: bicycle + rider + cargo, per manual. Rider-only limit unknown. Rear rack: 132 lb (60 kg).

Battery: 772 Wh

Motor: 700 W maker-described rear-hub motor; rating basis (nominal/peak) not stated on product page.

Frame: One Size; Haul ST Premium Aluminum.

Product and Manual, 2026-10-17
Priority Glide, U.S. Small/Medium Navy SKU 1161104 300 lb (136 kg) gross: bicycle + rider + cargo. Separate rider limit unknown. Check accessory limits too.

Battery: 374 Wh

Motor: 350 W maker-described front-hub motor; rating basis not stated.

Frame: Medium step-over / mid-step, 6061 aluminum alloy.

Product, 2026-10-17

The XPress2’s 330 lb (150 kg) combined allowance includes its 30 lb (14 kg) rack ceiling. A 300 lb (136 kg) rider leaves 30 lb (14 kg) within the rider-plus-cargo allowance. Priority’s 300 lb (136 kg) gross limit minus its listed 49 lb (22 kg) equipped bicycle leaves 251 lb (114 kg) for rider and cargo before added accessories. XPress2 height guidance is 5 ft 2 in–6 ft 3 in (157.5–190.5 cm); the Small/Medium Glide’s is 5 ft 2 in–5 ft 10 in (157.5–177.8 cm). These are maker figures and rounded arithmetic, not fit or load tests.

E-bikes for riders over 300 lb (136 kg)

Only use a number for the job its maker defines. A rider limit applies to the person; a payload limit may combine the rider and carried load; a gross or total limit can include the bicycle too. None is interchangeable. In these five documented U.S. configurations, Lectric publishes a 330 lb (150 kg) maximum rider weight for the XPress2 Cruiser. No other row in this comparison establishes a rider-only limit above 300 lb (136 kg). Ask the maker or dealer to confirm the exact bike and all component limits before relying on a number.

400 lb (181 kg) and 500 lb (227 kg) capacity e-bikes

A 400–500 lb (181–227 kg) headline can describe a combined system or payload, not a rider. The Globe Haul ST manual defines 419 lb (190 kg) as bicycle, rider and cargo together. Aventon currently lists 440 lb (200 kg) as the Abound SR “Total Weight Limit,” while its blog calls 440 lb (200 kg) the combined rider, passengers and cargo payload; the maker pages do not reconcile whether the bicycle is included. The Abound figure is therefore shown as unresolved and cannot be treated as a 440 lb (200 kg) rider limit. No eligible record in this comparison documents a 500 lb (227 kg) rider limit or a verified 500 lb (227 kg) total limit.

See the verified bike browser for the full configurations and original source observations. The comparison review is October 17, 2026; an unresolved load definition is not promoted into a verified rider allowance.

Three limits to write down

  • Rider limit: the permitted weight of the person riding, under the manufacturer's definition.
  • Payload limit: the permitted carried load, under that manufacturer's definition. Check whether accessories or passengers count.
  • Total system or maximum gross vehicle weight: includes the bicycle itself as well as the loads specified by its manufacturer.

A high cargo rating does not establish that the bike is suitable for a rider of the same weight. Check any separate rider restriction and rack or accessory limits too. Passing one calculation does not override another limit.

Tern's GSD Gen 2 cargo guide is a useful example of a clearly defined total. Its calculation includes the bike with batteries, installed accessories, people and cargo. It also distinguishes how unbraked and independently braked trailers enter its calculation. Apply the instructions for your own bike rather than treating this manufacturer's trailer rule as universal. Tern cargo guide, updated September 1, 2026.

A worked example, not a bike recommendation

Suppose a hypothetical manual defines a 396.8 lb (180 kg) total limit, and your complete bicycle weighs 66.1 lb (30 kg). A 264.6 lb (120 kg) rider plus 11 lb (5 kg) of installed equipment leaves 55.1 lb (25 kg) before reaching that total limit. That is an arithmetic allowance, not permission to load a particular rack with 55.1 lb (25 kg): its own restriction or the separate rider limit could be lower. Include riding equipment consistently and avoid counting an accessory twice if it is already included in the weighed bike.

Questions before buying

  1. Can the dealer identify the applicable manual and confirm every weight restriction for this exact configuration?
  2. Can you mount, stop, restart and handle the bicycle comfortably on a test ride?
  3. Who will service the bike locally, and can they set tires and suspension within the component makers' limits for your load?
  4. Can you lift or move it where it will be stored? Consider stairs, transport racks and their separate limits.
  5. What route, hills, luggage and charging opportunities must it support? Use the battery planning tool with your own energy-use assumption; an advertised maximum range is not a promise for your trip.

Do not choose a bike from a wattage number alone. Ask how the complete bicycle performs on your intended hills and loads. Check the exact model’s specifications and instructions rather than assuming a wattage rating establishes suitability.

Useful next steps

Compare sensor behavior with ebike torque sensor vs cadence sensor, estimate capacity with ebike battery pack calculator, and include maintenance and replacement assumptions in ebike ownership cost calculator. Check route access with find your local ebike policy on federal land where relevant; location-specific rules still need current verification.

Check the rack and system limits together

Trek’s Allant+ FS FAQ separately specifies the rack limit and a system limit that includes bicycle, rider and cargo. Remaining system allowance does not increase the rack’s rating. This manufacturer example illustrates why you must satisfy both restrictions; it is not a recommendation or a verified catalogue entry. Trek Allant+ FS FAQ, checked October 9, 2026.

Setup and fit

Ask the dealer to check the exact tire, wheel, seatpost and suspension instructions against your load. Trek’s FAQ notes that suspension setup varies with rider weight and recommends following service intervals. A comfortable test ride and a confirmed load rating answer different questions; check both before buying.

Frequently asked questions

Can a 300 lb (136 kg) rider use either bike in the comparison?

Lectric’s listed XPress2 limits permit a 300 lb (136 kg) rider within its 330 lb (150 kg) combined rider-and-cargo allowance, leaving 30 lb (14 kg) for carried load. Priority Glide’s 300 lb (136 kg) limit includes the bicycle, so it does not cover a 300 lb (136 kg) rider. Confirm the exact configuration and fit.

Does a cargo rating prove the bike suits a rider of the same weight?

No. Check any separate rider restriction as well as the total system, rack and accessory limits.

Can remaining system capacity be loaded onto the rack?

Only if the rack’s own limit and all other applicable restrictions allow it. Remaining total allowance does not increase the rack rating.

Does motor wattage alone establish suitability?

No. Check load limits, fit, handling, service support and the complete bike on your intended route. A wattage rating alone does not establish suitability.